Saturday, September 3, 2016

NGOs' Association & CITU organise MAss Dharna & Procession in support of All India Strike

Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers' Association alongwith CITU has  organized Mass Dharna, Processions and Public Meetings  throughout the Andaman and Nicobar Islands  in support of the  All India Strike  of the central trade unions and employees’ organizations on 2nd September, 2016 to protest against the anti-working class policies of the  central government.  At Port Blair, a Mass Dharna was organized at Tiranga Park, participated by government employees and workers. Inaugurating the Mass Dharna, B.Chandrachoodan, General Secretary, CITU State Committee criticized the central government for amending the labour laws in favour of corporate houses and multi-national companies.  He condemned the lethargic attitude adopted by a number of government departments under the A & N Administration towards resolving the demands raised by the Unions of workers working under it.  D. Laxman Rao, CITU leader while addressing the gathering said that the NDA government at the Centre has miserably failed to address the problems being faced by the islanders. Addressing the gathering T.S.Sreekumar, General Secretary, NGOs’ Association briefly explained all the demands concerning the central govt. employees which are being highlighted during the All India Strike. GP Mondal, Vice President and SL Vinjit, Secretary of the South Andaman Teachers’ Branch of the Association also addressed the gathering.  Later in the evening, a massive procession was taken out at the Port Blair town in which, despite heavy rain, a large number of employees and workers participated. The procession was led by M. Boominathan, President of CITU A & N State Committee and  P. Sathyapal, President and  SN Mishra, Vice President of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association.   
          At Diglipur, mass dharna was organized in which  large number of  workers and employees  participated  which was led by  Madan Mohan Das, Secretary, CITU North Andaman Zonal Committee, Smt Rukdhani Toppo,   Barun Biswas,  CITU leaders and   S. Arumugam,  Deepak Karmakar and   GC Dey, leaders of NGOs’ Association. 
At Billiground mass procession was organized in which government employees and workers participated.  NGOs’ Association leaders S. Bawali, Mritunjay Biswas, S.R.Mirdha, Saatyaban Gain and CITU leader Gopikulam led the programme.  At Rangat, a mass demonstration was held in front of the office of the Assistant Commissioner, participated by workers and employees.   VK Krishnadas and Karuppaiah, CITU leaders and  Association leaders Adaickan, Suresh Kumar, Natarajan and Ali Akbar led the programme. 
          At Baratang, massive procession was taken out in which a large number of  workers participated which was led by  Daniel Aint, Vice President, CITU and  Jayakumar. At Kadamtala, massive procession was taken out in which considerable number of workers participated which was led by Smt Shipra Bala, CITU State Committee Member.       
          The  issues  highlighted during the  All India Strike by  central trade unions include (1)  urgent measures to contain price rise  (2)  measures to contain rising unemployment in the country (3) minimum wages of Rs. 18,000/- per month for all workers, (4) stoppage of  contractorisation of  permanent and  perennial nature of  work and  payment of same wages and benefits  for contract workers also  (5) strict enforcement of all basic labour  laws  (6) social security cover for all workers and minimum pension of Rs. 3,000  per month  wherever it is less than Rs. 3000. (7) Removal of all ceilings on payment and eligibility of bonus, provident fund; increase the quantum of gratuity (8) Stoppage of disinvestment in central/state PSUs, against FDI in Railways, Insurance and Defence (9) to scrap New Pension Scheme (10) remove ceiling on compassionate ground appointments (11) Lift ban on creation of posts and fill up all vacant  posts, etc.

Strike Report by Confederation

Dated 2nd September 2016

             The initial report received at the Confederation Central Head Quarters indicate the participation of about ten lakhs Central Government employees in today’s nationwide general strike action of the Indian Working Class. Earlier, endorsing the call of the Central Trade Unions, the Confederation of Central Government employees and workers had called upon the Central Government employees to take part in the one-day strike to compel the Government to withdraw the anti-people and anti-labour neo-liberal policies pursued by the Central Government.

            Offices of the Postal, Income Tax, Ground Water Board, Survey of India, Geological Survey of India, Printing and Stationery department, Botanical Survey of India, Indian Bureau of Mines, RMS offices, census department, Indian Space Research organization, Central Government Health Scheme, Atomic Energy, Medical Stores depots, Film Institute of India, AGMARK, Indian Council for Medical Research, Film division and various other autonomous scientific and research institutions etc. remained closed and the work completely paralysed.

            The strike also affected the functioning of various offices of Indian Audit & Accounts department, Civil Accounts, Central Excise and Customs, CPWD etc. Total civilian employees of various Defence organisations and Defence Accounts Departments participated in the strike. The Strike was total in Kerala, West Bengal, Tamilnadu, Andhra, Telangana, Jharkhand, Chattisgarh, Odisha, Assam, North Eastern states, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh and 70 to 80% in other states.

            The Central Government employees were particularly unhappy over the totally negative attitude of the NDA Government towards their demands while implementing 7th Central Pay Commission recommendations. Ban on creation of new posts, non-filling up of about six lakhs vacant posts, introduction of New Contributory Pension Scheme, non-regularisation of Gramin Dak Sevaks and casual, contract workers, ceiling on compassionate appointments, rejection of the demand for increase in the minimum wage and fitment formula, reduction in the percentage of House Rent Allowance, abolition of 52 allowances etc. are some of the retrograde measures taken by the Central Government.

            The Confederation National Secretariat Congratulates the Central Government employees, who undertook intensive campaign to make the strike a grand success. The Confederation salutes all its members for their whole hearted participation in the strike and making it an unprecedented success.

M. Krishnan

Secretary General